The Nance Writer-in-Residence Program was created in 2012 by Sally Crane Cox, who chairs the Nance Committee at Thurber House, to honor her late husband, John E. Nance, who was a critically acclaimed photojournalist, author, and Associated Press Bureau Chief in Manila. The Nance Residency is a partnership between Thurber House and The Ohio State University.

Every year, we offer one talented author a month-long residency at Thurber House in Columbus, Ohio. The residency allows the author to focus on his/her own project(s) and is designed to provide a writer with the gift of time to develop a work in progress. The winning writer stays in the fully furnished, two-bedroom apartment on the third floor of Thurber House, the historic family home of James Thurber, and receives a $5,000 stipend.

2019 Guidelines

  • The applicant’s work may be fiction, or creative non-fiction, including memoir.

  • The applicant must be a U.S. citizen and over 18 years of age.

  • Applicants must have had a book published by a traditional publisher within the last three years and have another work under contract or in progress.

  • Applicants must submit two copies of BOTH the published work and a work in progress. Work in progress can be three chapters or three short stories for fiction, or a table of contents (if pertinent) creative non-fiction. No work in progress submission should exceed 50 pages.


Click here to download the 2019 Nance Writer-in-Residence application.

The deadline for submissions is March 15, 2019.

For more information about the Nance Writer-in-Residence Program, contact Anne Touvell at or call 614-464-1032 x10.


2018 John E. Nance Writer-In-Residence

Cleveland-area novelist Kevin P. Keating was the 2018 John E. Nance Writer-in-Residence. Keating resided for four weeks at the historic home of author, humorist, and New Yorker cartoonist James Thurber and received a $5,000 stipend.

Keating is the author of many short stories, essays, and reviews, and two novels: The Natural Order of Things (2014), which was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for a first work of fiction, and The Captive Condition (2015). Keating is nearing completion of his third novel, tentatively titled In the Secret Parts of Fortune.

After working as a boilermaker in the steel mills in Ohio, Keating became a professor of English. He has taught at Baldwin Wallace University, Cleveland State University, Lorain County Community College, and John Carroll University.

John E. Nance

John E. Nance

Thurber House

Thurber House

Past John E. Nance Writers-in-Residence

2018: Kevin P. Keating
2017: Masha Hamilton
2016: Sara Pritchard
2015: Sharon Short (also known as Jess Montgomery)
2014: Katrina Kittle
2013: Liza Monroy