2019 Winner:

Simon Rich, Hits & Misses

2019 Finalists: 

Sloane Crosley, Look Alive Out There

John Kenney, Love Poems for Married People

2018 Winner:

Patricia Lockwood, Priestdaddy

2018 Finalists: 

Jenny Allen, Would Everybody Please Stop?: Reflections on Life and Other Bad Ideas

John Hodgman, Vactionland: True Stories from Painful Beaches

2017 Winner:

Trevor Noah, Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

2017 Finalists: 

Ken Pisani, Amp'd

Aaron Thier, Mr. Eternity


2016 Winner:

Harrison Scott Key, The World's Largest Man

2016 Finalists: 

Jason Gay, Little Victories

Mary Norris, Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen


2015 Winner:

Julie Schumacher, Dear Committee Members 

2015 Finalists: 

Roz Chast, Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? 

Annabelle Gurwitch, I See You Made an Effort: Compliments, Indignities, and Survival Stories from the Edge of 50 


2014 Winner: 

John Kenney, Truth in Advertising 

2014 Finalists: 

Liza Donnelly, Women on Men 

Bruce McCall and David Letterman, This Land Was Made for You and Me (But Mostly Me) 


2013 Winner:  

Dan Zevin, Dan Gets a Minivan: Life at the Intersection of Dude and Dad 

2013 Finalists: 

Shalom Auslander, Hope, A Tragedy 

Dave Barry and Alan Zweibel, Lunatics: A Novel 


2012 Winner:  

Calvin Trillin, Quite Enough of Calvin Trillin: Forty Years of Funny Stuff 

2012 Finalists: 

Nate DiMeo and the creative team of Parks and Recreation, Pawnee: The Greatest Town in America 

Patricia Marx, Starting From Happy 


2011 Winner:  

David Rakoff, Half Empty 

2011 Finalists: 

Rick Reilly, Sports from Hell 

Mike Birbiglia, Sleepwalk with Me 


2010 Winner:  

Steve Hely, How I Became a Famous Novelist 

2010 Finalists: 

Jancee Dunn, Why Is My Mother Getting a Tattoo 

Rhoda Janzen, Mennonite in a Little Black Dress 


2009 Winner:  

Ian Frazier, Lamentations of the Father 

2009 Finalists: 

Sloane Crosley, I Was Told There'd Be Cake 

Don Lee, Wrack and Ruin 

Laurie Notaro, The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death 


2008 Winner:  

Larry Doyle, I Love You, Beth Cooper 

2008 Finalists: 

Patricia Marx, Him Her Him Again The End of Him 

Simon Rich, Ant Farm and Other Desperate Situations 


2007 Winner:  

Joe Keenan, My Lucky Star 

2007 Finalists: 

Merrill Markoe, Walking in Circles Before Lying Down 

Bob Newhart, I Shouldn’t Even Be Doing This and Other Things That Strike Me Funny 


2006 Winner:  

Alan Zweibel, The Other Shulman 

2006 Finalists: 

Bill Scheft, Time Won’t Let Me 

Kinky Friedman, Texas Hold ‘Em 


2005 Winner:  

Jon Stewart and the writers of The Daily Show, America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction 

2005 Finalists:  

Andy Borowitz, The Borowitz Report: The Big Book of Shockers 

Firoozeh Dumas, Funny in Farsi 


2004 Winner:  

Christopher Buckley, No Way to Treat a First Lady 

2004 Finalists: 

Robert Kaplow, Me and Orson Welles 

Dan Zevin, The Day I Turned Uncool 


2001 Winner:  

David Sedaris, Me Talk Pretty One Day 

2001 Special Honor Book:  

Henry Alford, Big Kiss 

2001 Finalists: 

Andy Borowitz, The Trillionaire Next Door 

Bill Bryson, In a Sunburned Country 

Brett Leveridge, Men My Mother Dated 

Jim Mullen, It Takes a Village Idiot 


1999 Winner: 

The editors of The Onion, Our Dumb Century: 100 Years of Headlines from America’s Finest News Source  


1997 Winner: 

Ian Frazier, Coyote v. Acme 

1997 Honor Books: 

David Sedaris, Naked 

Al Franken, Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot and Other Observations