Every year, we offer one talented, emerging middle grade author a month-long residency in the furnished third-floor apartment of Thurber House in Columbus, Ohio. The Children’s Writer-in-Residence has time to focus on his/her own writing project and spends up to ten hours per week teaching children the joys of writing at Thurber House’s Summer Writing Camp as well as at other local community organizations. 

The deadline to apply for our 2019 residency has passed. We will be announcing our 2019 Children’s Writer-in-Residence in February.

If you’re an emerging middle grade author, check back in the fall for submission guidelines for our 2020 residency! If you have any questions, please contact Meg Brown at

Pablo Cartaya

2018 Children's Writer-in-Residence

Pablo Cartaya was the 2018 Thurber House Children’s Writer-in-Residence. Cartaya, author of The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, enjoyed the haunted third floor apartment of Thurber House for four weeks during the summer where he brought his fun, and often musical, creative writing programs to Columbus. During his stay, he worked with our summer writing camp students, spoke at libraries, and visited other local community organizations while working on his latest novel.

Pablo Cartaya is the author of the acclaimed middle-grade novel, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora and the forthcoming Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish (August, 2018)He is a Publishers Weekly "Flying Start" and has received starred reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, and Publishers Weekly. A few fun facts: Pablo co-starred on NBC’s Will & Grace; guest starred on the Spanish language sitcom Los Beltran; and appeared in various commercials, music videos, and theatrical productions! On the serious side, he has also taught all over ranging from kindergarten all the way through adults and often brings in his theatrical side when working with students. When he is not writing, he currently serves as faculty at Sierra Nevada College's low residency MFA in Lake Tahoe. Visit him at or Twitter @phcartaya.

Past Children's Writers-in-Residence

2018: Pablo Cartaya
2016: Lou Anders
2015: Crystal Allen
2014: Kristen Kittscher
2013: Jane Kelley
2012: Donna Gephart
2011: Alan Gratz
2010: Keith McGowan
2009: Hope Anita Smith
2008: Alan Silberberg
2007: Lisa Yee
2006: Sam Swope
2005: Shelley Pearsall
2004: Laurie Miller Hornik
2003: Natasha Tarpley
2002: Kathryn Hewitt
2001: Deborah Wiles


Pablo Pic 1.jpeg